Franklin County voters are heading to the polls to cast their ballots in the 2022 midterm primary elections. 

Voters are deciding who will represent the Republican and Democratic parties in the November election. In statewide races, there are contested primaries for both parties for the governorship and for retiring Sen. Rob Portman’s seat. 

At the local level, voters will advance candidates for county commissioner and county auditor in uncontested primaries. Judges are also running to serve on the 10th District Court of Appeals in Franklin County as well as the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas. 

Here are the key races: 

Statewide Republican Primaries: 

Governor: Mike DeWine / Ron Hood / Jim Renacci / Joe Blystone

Senate: Mark Pukita / Jane Timken / JD Vance / Matt Dolan / Mike Gibbons / Josh Mandel / Neil Patel

Statewide Democratic Primaries: 

Governor: Nan Whaley / John Cranley 

Senate: Morgan Harper / Traci TJ Johnson / Tim Ryan

Congressional Primaries

In the two congressional races that involve Franklin County voters, the primaries are uncontested. In District 3, voters can advance Joyce Beatty (D) and Lee Stahley (R). In District 15, the candidates are Mike Carey (R) and Gary Josephson (D). 

County Primaries: 

The primary races for county commissioner and county auditor are uncontested. Erica Crawley (D) and Luis Gil (R) are on the ballot for county commissioner. Michael Stinziano (D) and Jarrod Golden (R) are on the ballot for county auditor. 

There are four 10th District Court of Appeals judicial races and 10 Franklin County Court of Common Pleas races, all of which are uncontested primaries except for one race on the Democratic side in which Julie Lynch is running against Michael Boyle. 

You can find your sample ballot and polling location on the Franklin County Board of Elections website.

Follow along for live updates: