MADISON, Wis. — Wisconsin’s Presidential Preference Selection Committee met Tuesday to decide which candidates will have their name listed on the spring primary ballot.

In the wake of states, including Colorado and Maine, citing the 14th Amendment to disqualify Donald Trump from their ballots, many wondered if Wisconsin would do the same. However, Tuesday’s meeting was over in five minutes with no controversy.

What You Need To Know

  • The Presidential Preference Selection Committee has sole discretion of deciding which candidates will be included on Wisconsin’s April 2 primary ballot

  • Parties must have surpassed 10% of the vote in the most recent gubernatorial election to be included

  • Only the Republican and Democratic parties met that threshold

Republicans put foward six names to be included on Wisconsin’s spring presidential primary ballot on April 2—Donald Trump, Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy, Asa Hutchinson, Chris Christie, and Ron DeSantis.

Democrats followed suit, albeit with a much shorter list of just one name: President Joe Biden.

When the time came to make any changes to that list of names, the special committee was silent, unlike in other states where objections were raised.

Last week, Kirk Bangstad, who owns Minocqua Brewing Company and is an outspoken Democrat, asked the Wisconsin Elections Commission to keep Trump’s name off the ballot.

His request was swiftly denied without consideration because the commission has no role in placing a candidate’s name on the ballot. Rather, that decision is solely up to the Presidential Preference Selection Committee that met Tuesday.