MADISON, Wis. — Wisconsin will receive more than $6 million in federal grants from the U.S. Department of Transportation to explore strategies to reduce roadway fatalities and injuries.

The federal grants will be distributed to eight Wisconsin counties and municipalities as part of the Safe Streets and Roads for All grant program, Gov. Tony Evers said.

“From Milwaukee to Park Falls, these funds are going to support creative solutions to the problems affecting Wisconsin roads, helping keep drivers, cyclists, pedestrians and communities safe,” Evers noted. “We’ve been working hard over the past four years to ensure Wisconsinites have the safe and reliable transportation system and quality of life they deserve and expect, and we appreciate our federal partners and their commitment to building a better, safer future for our state and country.”

Milwaukee will receive $4.4 million to fund a project that addresses safety concerns for pedestrians and cyclists at 26 intersections in the city. Data has shown crashes at these intersections resulted from high speeds and reckless driving behaviors.

“States across the nation have seen a rise in deadly crashes and risky driving behaviors in recent years,” WisDOT Secretary Craig Thompson said. “This funding allows Wisconsin communities to refine their approach to highway safety; to design a transportation system that addresses reckless driving and saves lives.” 

The seven other SS4A grant recipients will build action plans to redesign roads, sidewalks and crosswalks to make them safer for all road users.

Besides the $4.4 million grant for the City of Milwaukee, seven communities will receive more than $2.28 million in grants, including: 

  • Milwaukee County — $800,000

  • St. Croix County — $500,000

  • City of Madison — $267,680

  • Kenosha County — $240,000

  • Brown County — $200,000

  • City of Park Falls — $144,000

  • Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians — $132,500

The SS4A grant program, established by President Joe Biden’s infrastructure law, provides $5 billion over five years for regional, local and tribal initiatives to prevent deaths and serious injuries on roads in communities across the nation.

“The grant award is a critical piece of funding to help us make mobility in Milwaukee County safer for everyone no matter what part of the county you’re in,” said Milwaukee County Department of Transportation Director Donna Brown-Martin. “Milwaukee County is committed to leading an equitable and inclusive approach to roadway safety and I look forward to working with our municipal partners on mapping a way that advances all of our shared goals.”

For more on the SS4A grant program, visit the USDOT website


Facebook Twitter