KENTUCKY — Fleming, Hickman, Lawrence, Livingston, Anderson, and Boone counties have been randomly chosen for a post-General Election audit. 

What You Need To Know

  • Six counties selected for post-General Election audit

  • AG Daniel Cameron selected the counties during public drawing Wednesday morning

  • State law requires AG to conduct post-election audits in no fewer than 5% of Kentucky's counties

Attorney General Daniel Cameron selected the counties during a public drawing held Wednesday morning and streamed live on his Facebook page. Usually held in-person, the event took place virtually due to COVID-19.

In accordance with Kentucky state law, specifically KRS 15.243(3), the Office of the Attorney General is required to conduct post-election audits in no fewer than 5% of Kentucky's counties. The counties must be selected at random in a public forum within 20 days of each primary and general election.

"This year has brought unprecedented challenges to Kentuckians and, frankly, to all americans. Together we have faced head on the difficulties of holding an election in the midst of a global pandemic," Cameron said at the drawing. "Despite these challenges, my office has worked hard to do our part to maintain the strength of our democracy by protecting the integrity of Kentucky’s elections."

Now, investigators from the Department of Criminal Investigations will conduct independent investigations in each of the selected counties. The results will then be presented before the grand jury of each audited county who will then report the findings to the chief circuit judge.

The same process took place following June's Primary Election. The selected counties included Cumberland, Daviess, Floyd, Monroe, Logan, and Simpson, none of which revealed "abnormalities or criminal conduct," Cameron said.

Haeli Spears is a digital producer with Spectrum News 1 KY. She is a recent graduate of the University of Louisville and joined the staff in May, 2020.