LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Eight people will play an important role in the selection of Louisville's next top cop.

What You Need To Know

  • Eight people to serve on search panel for next permanent LMPD chief

  • Panel to conduct interviews, evaluate applications, make recommendation to mayor

  • Members include city government, Metro council, community members

  • Permanent chief expected to be announced by end of the year

The group, which includes members from several sectors in local government and the community, will serve as a search panel for Louisville Metro Police Department's next permanent chief.

“This panel comprises dedicated leaders from Metro Council, city government and our community – each with a commitment to achieving our goal of reimagining public safety,” said Mayor Greg Fischer. “I am confident they will provide thoughtful insight as we work to advance police reform in our city.”

The panel will evaluate the applications of over 20 people who applied for the permanent chief role, conduct interviews, identify the top candidates, and make recommendations to Fischer. According to the mayor's office, the interview process will include input collected from the community and LMPD during previous surveys and listening sessions. Questions that the community would like the candidates to answer can be sent to LouisvilleChiefQuestions@policeforum.org.

Metro Council President David James, part of the panel, said, “Without question, this selection process will be one of the most important ones the city will make moving forward. I am honored to work with those who have been chosen. Our challenge is to find the right candidates who will listen to the community and are interested in building relationships that reform LMPD and help us retain and locate the right people who want to walk our streets and neighborhoods.” 

Here's who's serving on the panel:

Kendall Boyd, Louisville Metro Government Chief Equity Officer

Appointed to his current role in March, Boyd is an attorney who has served in city government since 2014. He's previously worked as assistant director of human resources before being appointed director of the Louisville Metro Human Relations Commission in 2017.

"He has been committed to ensuring fairness and justice for all people, and has participated in the creation and enforcement of policies aimed at making the community more equitable," said a press release from the mayor's office.

Jessica Green, Public Safety Committee Chair, Metro Council

Since 2015, Councilwoman Green has served District 1, which includes Lake Dreamland, Cane Run Road, Campground Road, Bells Lane, south to Lower Hunters Trace, in South West Louisville. It also includes Chickasaw, Russell, California, Park DuValle and Parkland neighborhoods.

Green served as vice chair of the Council's Majority Caucus in 2019.

"During her tenure on the Metro Council, Councilwoman Green has made public safety one of her top priorities," the press release said. "She championed the use of ShotSpotter technology for Louisville Metro Police as a better way of detecting gunfire in the city."

Amy Hess, Chief of Public Safety

In her role of chief of public safety, Hess oversees Emergency Services, Corrections, Fire and LMPD.

She was previously the highest-ranking woman in the FBI, serving as executive assistant director of the FBI's Criminal, Cyber, Response and Services Branch in Washington D.C. She also was the Special Agent in Charge of the Louisville field office, responsible for all FBI personnel and operations in Kentucky.

David James, Metro Council President

President James has been a part of Metro Council since November of 2010, serving District 6. His district includes neighborhoods such as Algonquin, California, Limerick, Old Louisville, Park Hill, Russell, St. Joseph, Shelby Park, Smoketown-Jackson, Taylor-Berry, University, and the Central Business District.

James was previously Democratic Caucus Chair in 2013 and 2015, and he chaired Metro Council's Public Safety Committee. He has 30 years of experience in law enforcement, including as part of LMPD.

Vincent James, Louisville Metro Government Chief of Community Building

James supervises departments like the Office for Safe & Healthy Neighborhoods, Public Health & Wellness, Youth Transition Services, the Louisville Zoo, and Parks & Recreation.

James is also pastor of Elim Baptist Church in Parkland.

James Peden, Metro Council's Public Safety Committee Co-Chair

Councilman Peden first joined Metro Council in November 2002 after the city and county merger. His district represents Hollow Creek, Spring Mill and Heritage Creek as well as the neighborhoods of Highview, Okolona and Fern Creek.

He also served as a major with the Highview Fire Department before retiring in 2013 after 26 years. Peden is also a former teacher with Jefferson County Public Schools, where he taught for 25 years.

Carmen Moreno-Rivera, Louisville Metro Government Chief of Performance Improvement

Moreno-Rivera is the chief of the Office for Performance Improvement where she "leads strategic and resiliency planning efforts and the performance management program (LouieStat) for Louisville Metro Government," said the press release. 

Sharon VanCleave, Rangeland Elementary Teacher

VanCleave, a JCPS teacher, is the panel's community representative. Before, she served in leadership roles including as an elected delegate for the Kentucky Education Association Delegate Assembly and National Education Association Representative Assembly. She also served on JCPS' Racial and Equity Committee and helped implement trauma informed care at her school.

The Police Executive Research Forum (PERF), a non-profit Washington, D.C.-based police research organization, will lead the search for LMPD's next chief. PERF has identified best practice for cities across the nation for issues such as reducing police use of force, developing community policing and using technology to deliver police services. 

Former LMPD Deputy Chief Yvette Gentry was sworn in Thrusday morning as interim police chief. Fischer said he expects to name the new permanent chief by the end of the year.