KENTUCKY — Tornado survivors have less than two weeks to apply for help from FEMA. The deadline to apply for help is Monday, March 14.

What You Need To Know

  • Deadine to apply for help from FEMA is March 14

  • There are several ways to apply

  • Underinsured or uninsured individuals are eligible for assistance

  • Survivors can also apply for small business loans


If you are a homeowner or renter with uninsured or underinsured damage to your property from the Dec. 10-11 tornadoes, you are eligible to apply for help. The counties eligible for aid are:

  • Barren County
  • Caldwell County
  • Christian County
  • Fulton County
  • Graves County
  • Hart County
  • Hickman County
  • Hopkins County
  • Logan County
  • Lyon County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Muhlenberg County
  • Ohio County
  • Taylor County
  • Warren County

If you have already applied for FEMA aid, you do not need to apply again. This aid does not replace insurance, and it isn’t to compensate for every loss caused by the storms. Instead, FEMA assistance helps to meet basic needs and supplement other efforts.

Tornado survivors are encouraged to file insurance claims for their homes, vehicles and other personal property before applying for FEMA assistance.

There are several ways to apply for aid. You can go online or make a phone call. Visit, use the FEMA mobile app or call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362.

Those affected by the December tornadoes can apply for disaster loans using the Small Business Association’s website. You can also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 or you can email For those who are deaf or hard of hearing, the number to call is 800-877-8339.