CANTON, Ohio — One day after Ohio’s newest “Mr. Football” was announced for 2023, we might have gotten a preview of next year’s winner, who could eventually be honored twice.

What You Need To Know

  • St. Edward captured a third straight OHSAA Division I state championship with a 31-21 win over Springfield

  • Sophomore running back Brandon White had 235 rushing and three touchdowns
  • It's the seventh overall football championship for the Eagles, all since 2010

Sophomore running back Brandon White went over 200 yards for a third straight game, leading St. Edward (14-1) to a third straight Ohio High School Athletic Association Division I state championship, beating Springfield (for a third straight year in the final) 31-21.

White is blessed with arguably the top offensive line in the state, led by Michigan commit Ben Roebuck and twins Devontae and Deontae Armstrong, who are headed to Ohio State. With the size of most Division I college lines, St. Edward carried 42 times for 305 yards. 

For the game, White had 32 carries for 235 yards and three touchdowns, taking his season totals to 1,919 yards and 23 scores. 

On defense, the star was Nate Gregory, who had 13 tackles, one sack, three and a half tackles for loss and two forced fumbles. 

St. Edward raced out to a quick 14-0 lead, before Springfield inserted cornerback Aaron Scott (an Ohio State commit) at quarterback. He sparked the Wildcats (10-6) to two scores, leveling the game at 14 all. 

The Eagles then countered with a scoring drive, capped by a three-yard touchdown from White. On the ensuing kickoff, though, Springfield’s Jayvin Norman took the return 93-yards for a score, and the longest kick return in OHSAA history for a Division I championship game. The previous record was Wayne’s Ahmad Wagner, who had a 90-yarder against St. Edward in 2014. 

It was still 21-21 in the fourth quarter, when the Eagles began wearing the Wildcats down. St. Edward went ahead for good with a 36-yard field goal by Kellen Moyer.

It’s the seventh football state title overall for the Eagles, tied with Kirtland, Benedictine, Coldwater and Versailles for sixth-most all-time. Marion Local has the most with 13, although the Flyers have an opportunity to add to that Saturday. 

St. Edward has now won 18 straight playoff games, the fifth-longest such streak in state history. Marion Local can match that tomorrow. 

Since 2010, the Flyers have the most state titles (9), while St. Edward and Kirtland both added their seventh championships on Friday.

Despite coming up short in the title game, Springfield had a remarkable season, after beginning the year 1-3, as well as 3-5. The Wildcats matched Lake Catholic in 2020 for the lowest seed (12) to ever reach the championship game.