COLUMBUS, Ohio — For the second time in team history, the Columbus Crew SC claimed the Major League Soccer Cup title.

A pair of goals by midfielder Lucas Zelarayán led the way as the Crew defeated Seattle Sounders, 3-0.


Zelarayán, the MLS Newcomer of the Year and 2020 MLS Cup MVP, scored in the 25th minute in the first half and provided the final goal of the match in the 82nd minute. Derrick Etienne Jr. extended the Crew lead in the first half with a goal off of an assist by Zelarayán in the 31st minute.

Crew goalkeeper Eloy Room finished with two saves in the match.

Columbus midfielder Aiden Morris became the youngest starter in MLS Cup history.


The championship comes in the second season since the #SaveTheCrew movement during the threat of the team being moved to Austin, Texas.


The Crew won its other MLS title in 2008 by defeating New York Red Bulls. Columbus appeared in the MLS Cup again in 2015, losing to Portland Timbers, then coached by current Crew coach Caleb Porter.

Seattle was denied in its chance to be the first repeat champion in MLS since the LA Galaxy in 2011-12.