The 88 logo

Ohio is a big place, and life can be quite different in the state’s 88 counties.

That's why we're launching a new series on Spectrum News 1 called "The 88." We want to share what it's like to be an Ohioan, county by county, story by story. 

The 88

Medina County:

Medina County is in north central Ohio conveniently located between the larger metropolitan areas of Cleveland and Akron providing residents a vast array of recreational, cultural and entertainment activities. The county contains approximately 425 square miles with a current estimated population of 178,371.

Medina County was formed in 1812 from a portion of Portage County but did not officially organize until 1818. Medina County celebrated its bicentennial year in 2018 commemorating its industrial and agricultural roots. The largest city in the County, in terms of population, is Brunswick with an estimated 2017 population of 34,867. The City of Medina (County Seat) had an estimated population of 26,190 and the City of Wadsworth had approximately 23,476. In addition to these three cities, Medina County is made up of six villages and seventeen townships.