KENTUCKY — As the commonwealth's coronavirus cases rise, Kentucky has been added to the list of states whose residents traveling to New Jersey or New York must quarantine for two weeks because of the virus.

What You Need To Know

  • Kentucky added to New Jersey, New York travel advisories

  • Travelers from Kentucky will need to quarantine for two weeks

New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy announced Kentucky's addition to the travel advisory yesterday, which calls for travelers to quarantine for 14 days after arriving.

Several other states were adding to the travel advisory yesterday including Illinois and Minnesota in addition to Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo also added Kentucky to New York's travel advisory yesterday along with Illinois and Minnesota. 

"Our job is to do everything we can to control COVID and anticipate possible future issues, and in that regard, the issues we watch are the infection rates spreading across the country and compliance with the rules that we now have in place across the state," Cuomo said. "The situation across the nation is still very bad and there are more states that have exceeded our thresholds for quarantine." 

Kentucky implemented a travel advisory of its own just lask week with Gov. Andy Beshear recommending anyone traveling to a state with a positivity rate of 15 percent or higher to quarantine for two weeks.

Those states included in the advisory are Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Nevada, South Carolina and Texas.