Lawmakers gavel in Tuesday at noon--and when they do a sea of new faces will be there. 

After a wave of retirements and a couple of election upsets more than 30 new faces will be seen in the Kentucky General Assembly. 

Many of those are from the western part of the state. After a hard fought primary, Democrat Patti Minter will be taking over Retiring Rep. Jody Richards seat in the 20th House District which encompasses Bowling Green. 

Bowling Green area will also see Republican Steve Sheldon take over the 17th House District, which was left open after Rep. Jim Decesare decided not to run for re-election after being involved in a sexual harassment scandal. 

More diversity is coming to the legislature as well, in Louisville's 40th House District Nima Kulkarni will become the first Indian-American woman in the General Assembly. 

Spectrum News 1 spoke with Kulkarni in May on her decision to seek to office.

"I think what we need in Frankfort is not change for change sakes," she said. "We need an informed dedicated, committed voice that will stand up, be aware of the issues and fight against whatever is attacking the best interests of our people." 

A crop of new educators will also be in Frankfort--not as protesters but representatives. 

Jefferson County Public Schools Board of Education Member Lisa Willner will be filling the seat left by long time Rep. Jim Wayne in the 35th House District.

Special education teacher Tina Bojanowski upset incumbent Phil Moffett for the 32nd House District. 

Educator Josie Raymond will be representing the 31st House District, while Ohio County Schools Superintendent Scott Lewis will represent the 14th House District. 

Boone County School Board Member Ed Massey will takeover the 66th House District, and Travis Brenda who beat Rep. Jonathan Shell in the Republican primary will represent the 71st House District. 

An interesting name to note--is Jim Glenn. His name appears on the LRC website as the 13th District representative, but he's been locked in battle with House Republican Leadership over his seat. Glenn beat incumbent DJ Johnson by one vote in November, Johnson has requested an election contest. Glenn has demanded Speaker David Osborne seats him on Tuesday, but Osborne hasn't committed. 

The makeup of the General Assembly now is 61 Republican to 39 Democrat. 

Full List of Freshman Lawmakers

House District 3- Randy Bridges, R-Paducah 

House Distict 5- Larry Elkins, R-Calloway County 

House District 6- Chris Freeland, R-Benton 

House District 11- Rob Wiederstein, D-Henderson

House District 13- Jim Glenn, D-Owensboro (Involved in election contest)

House District 14- Scott Lewis, R-Hartford 

House District 17- Steve Sheldon, R-Butler and Warren County

House District 20- Patti Minter, D-Warren County

House District 27-Nancy Tate, R-Meade and Hardin County 

House District 31- Josie Raymond, D-Louisville 

House District 32- Tina Bojanowski, D-Louisville 

House District 35- Lisa Willner, D-Louisville 

House District 40- Nima Kulkarni, D-Louisville

House District 43-Charles Booker, D-Louisville 

House District 48- Maria Sorolis, D-Jefferson and Oldham County

House District 49- Thomas Huff, R-Shepherdsville 

House District 61- Savannah Maddox, R-Dry Ridge 

House District 65- Buddy Wheatley, D-Kenton County

House District 66- Ed Massey, R-Boone County 

House District 71-Travis Brenda, R-Crab Orchard 

House District 72- Matthew Koch, R-Paris

House District 73- Les Yates, R-Winchester 

House District 81- Deanna Frazier, R-Madison County

House District 87- Adam Bowling, R-Bell and Harlan County

House District 88- Cherlynn Stevenson, D-Lexington

House District 90- Derek Lewis, R-Clay, Laurel and Leslie County 

House District 91- Cluster Howard, D-Jackson 

House District 95- Ashley Tackett Laferty, D-Martin

House District 96- Kathy Hinkle, D-Carter and Lawrence County

House District 100- Terri Clark, D-Boyd County 

Senate District 4- Robert Mills, R-Henderson *Served previously in the House of Representatives*

Senate District 8- Matt Castlen, R-Owensboro